Danny


Danny scurried from under the bushes. Looked like he had rolled around in mud. Danny pushed his bike to the tree line, stumbled, and found his balance on top of the beer cans. He looked up at me. I had been watching from the bus stop. He smiled. I waved. I approached him with hands revealed. “It’s none of my business, sir- but are you sleeping outside?” I told him he didn’t have to, if and only if he wanted help. “My name’s Danny. I prayed all day for somebody. Guess God loves me. I only drink cause it’s so sad.” Danny
started praying for me. I gave him my card. He walked off shouting “thank you, Jesus.” I didn’t do anything, but offer him a card. I am always surprised by the hope in the hearts of my friends who love outside.

well, what do you think?

