Mary Mary


“Mary”
ran up on Peachtree street from
Behind me. Scared me. Thin arms hugged my neck. Prayers came from
Her mouth as her Jaw moved uncontrollably. I gave her a piece of gum to help with the dope’s teeth grind. She prayed down heaven on my ass.
The tears gathered in my eyes. My skeptic’s response crushed when she said “God called you here. Your suffering’s not in vain. God called you here.”
I walked to five points to catch the bus back to the suburbs. She hugged me and rocked my hand along the journey. She prayed for me. Non stop. And she gave what she had.

I felt empty. She heard God’s spirit tell her to come minister to me.
It was a lot. Enough. Needed.

One thought on “Mary Mary

well, what do you think?

