A poem for Sunday: I will never have all the answers, I guess your Love will suffice


With all these thoughts spinning in my head, its hard to keep you focused, hard to hear instead.

I need time with you, God. Time in your space. But I try to figure you out-Draw a map of your face.

I question my existence, theological premises,doctrinal raves

 Never can I question my experience – Christ clenching me from my Grave.

I know your pure blood spilled over me, I know that you somehow exist

I know you died to set me free, Your love I dare not resist

I know the stories from long ago-I know your power and fame,

 your resurection, your assumption, the holiness contained in your name.

 You defy natural law, you break through space and time, scoffing at my reason.

 You grin at philosophers,thinkers, theologians and sunday’s preachers preaching.

 We exist at mere humans. may our words be few. but we long to take the reins, and put a saddle onto you.

I can not fathom just what all that means a metaphor, a reality, and it loops me in its mystery.

an uneasy problem for a mathematician, an incomplete logic or blank syllogism.

 for all my attempts to figure you out have been a

 wild goose chase.

 You can not be captured. conceptualized. contained you resist being examined, elucidated, explained

 And yet your answer on the mount of “I am” remains.

You baffle me. You fluster my imagination. I search out for reason, possibly illumination.

You intrigue me. You’re dangerous. You will not be controlled.

 Yet you hold me close. You chase me down. You will not leave me alone.

I love you Yahweh this is true. You, the spirit, and Christ. I will never have all the answers, I guess your love will suffice.

One thought on “A poem for Sunday: I will never have all the answers, I guess your Love will suffice

well, what do you think?

